Topiary

by grimbeau

 

Chat Poem #1

The abysmal dancer witters on:

‘…got a tweet from Buddha

naturally I tweeted back–

O! How we tittered.’

 

Looking out at ragged garden:

took  a modest winter battering

noxious giant Sussex Hens

word mind selects: ‘Topiary’

 

Sculpted hedgerow dinosaurs

mock Gothic ramparts; all shapes

phallic by decree,

got no choice in theses matters-

black racing car minus

backseat driver,

equals a dead duck,

& a family of

unreal estate elephants.

~

so nearly lost to reason I paused

came upon my senses

scattered all around.

The duties of the day press in:

Wake the dead, feed the head,

Clean up, sit up, sit down…

All go

All go rhythm

 

Chat Poem#2

 

Just now something moved me

& stopped me in mid-step

& I teeter on one foot

like a Wallander

hopping on barbed wire

~

I saw her on my morning

in the middle of her night

Blocking up the toilet

by the stark hospital light

 

I will see her later on

On her morning off

And we will argue once again

:

 

Leaf over leaf

The page is made

From wood

Chopped,

chipped and pulvered

Mulched and pressed

 

Blotter and wafer

Are a mystery

To me

But you can eat always

Rice paper.

~

This evening in the middle

Of her day

The washing machine will

Stop me from napping

 

We will eat supper for lunch

And I will dream of Dali’s

Lobster Flamingos

sulking in green mud

 

#4

Sentimentality:

Just the very thought of it

& l just wet myself

Dry agony blocks sinuses

Swallowlessness

-welling floodgates spill over

 

 

#5

When weeping willows

Transgress their quota of woe

Tell them no worries

 

#6

Watched the wheel for all

It was not there some mud, chewing gum, and dog shit

 

#7

Jupiter turned up

uninvited yesterday

Orrery troubles

Waiting in the wings he said

Pre-stressed concrete blocks ahead

signifying nothing yet

 

 

 

